About Us

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees represents the present and future well-being of the school. Its members are elected by the Corporation (parents of children currently enrolled at the school) and include current parents, alumni, former parents, faculty, and administrators.

The powers of the Board are outlined in the bylaws as follows:

The Corporation shall have a Board of Trustees (collectively, the “Board,” and each member, a “Trustee” or more than one, “Trustees”). Except to the extent reserved to the members by law, the Articles of Organization or the Bylaws, the establishment of overall policies for the Corporation and the assurance of its financial stability shall be managed by the Trustees, who may exercise all the powers of the Corporation as may be required to accomplish the educational and charitable purposes of the Corporation.

Trustees include:
  • 13-19 Trustees elected by the Corporation, at least two of whom must be alumni and one a non-current parent
  • 2 Faculty members elected by the faculty
  • The Chair of Parents Council
  • The Head of School
As a result of a 2001 change in the Board of Trustees bylaws, the Board Nominating Committee now nominates all trustees. The Nominating Committee consists of the Board Chair, the Head of School, the Chair of the Governance Committee (or successor committee), an Officer of the Parents’ Council, two (2) other members of the Governance Committee (or successor committee), two (2) at-large members of the Corporation chosen in consultation with the Parents’ Council, and any other members as designated by the Board Chair. The Nominating Committee nominates for the office of Trustee as many candidates as there may be vacancies on the Board to be filled by election at the next annual meeting of the Corporation. The bylaws now also stipulate that one member of the Board should not be a member of the corporation. The members of the Board of Trustees elect the Chair, Treasurer, and Clerk.

Standing committees of the Board include Audit, Finance, Buildings and Grounds, Investment, Advancement, Executive, and Governance. The Chair of the Board appoints additional committees as needed to undertake projects on behalf of the school. Board committees, in most cases, include broad participation: trustees, parents, administrators, faculty, and alumni.

Board of Trustees 2018-2019

Nima Eshghi, Chair
Bob Crowley, Treasurer and Finance Chair
Holly Edmonds ’84, Clerk 
Holly Ambler '80
Betsy Anderson TTC ’86
Carita Anderson
David Brewster ‘86
Kip Brown ‘84
Melissa Hanenberger
Ted Killory
Francine Rosenzweig
Angela Garcia
Alyssa Haywoode
Keri Hughes
Chris Lee
Jeita Phillips ‘94
Mark Stanek, Head of School
Ralph Wales
Robin Walker
Ruth Webb '84, Parents Council Co-Chair
By invitation:
Pam Dickinson, Director of External Relations and Strategic Management
James Greenwood, Director of Inclusion and Multicultural Practice
Maureen Nunez, Chief Financial Officer/Chief Operating Officer
Kim Walker, Director of Special Projects

Board Meeting Dates

The 2018-2019 Board meeting dates are:
(1)  Saturday, September 15 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
(2)  Wednesday, November 14: 5:00 - 9:30 PM
(3)  Wednesday, January 16: 5:00 - 9:30 PM
(4)  Wednesday, March 27: 5:00 - 9:30 PM
(5)  Friday, May 10: 12:00 - 6:00 PM (Note: Rescheduled from May 17)
617.520.5260        178 Coolidge Hill    Cambridge MA 02138